ACM e-Energy 2019 Travel Grants

The travel grants are meant to mainly support graduate students and post-doctoral students attending e-Energy. The number of travel grants and the size of individual grants is determined by the type of attendee (paper or poster presenter), the travel needs of the attendees, and at the amount available.

The travel grants are generously sponsored by NSF EPCN and ACM SIGCOMM.

Purpose and Grant Value

Travel grant awards are meant to partially cover the cost of attending and participating in ACM e-Energy 2019.

  • Grants for attendees from outside North America is fixed at USD 1400.

    Grants for attendees from within North America is fixed at USD 1000.

  • All travel grant awardees must register for the Main Conference ($375 for early registration before May 24, 2019 and $450 for late registration) as well as Workshop/Tutorial Add-on ($50). They also must pay the FCRC fee ($60/$75 for early registration and $100/$125 for late registration).


  • Each grant can be used to reimburse the following expenses, up to the grant amount:
    • ACM e-Energy registration (Main Conference + Workshop/Tutorial Add-on);
    • FCRC fee;
    • Travel expenses including lodging, airfare, transportation, meals and incidentals.
  • Award recipients would need to pay for expenses ahead of time and get reimbursed after the conference by way of the award.


We will apply the following eligibility criteria:

  • applicants must be full-time undergraduate students, graduate students or early-career post-docs studying or working at established universities. Female students and students from under-represented groups are particularly encouraged to apply.
  • submit an application that provides strong reasons for attending e-Energy if the applicant is not presenting a paper. This may be evidenced by publications, research projects and support from the supervisor.

Selection Criteria

We will apply the following priority order (descending) in considering applications for grants:

  1. authors of a regular paper accepted at the conference. Only one author per paper will be given this preference.
  2. authors of note/workshop/poster/demo papers. Only one author per paper will be given this preference.

Important Dates

  • May 5, 2019 (23:59 EST)

    Travel Grant Application Submission Deadline

  • May 12, 2019

    Travel Grant Award Notification

How to Apply

An applicant should submit the travel grant application via email to with subject “e-Energy 2019 Travel Grant Application - [Name of applicant].

In the email, the applicant should indicate:

  • (a) applicant’s affiliation (i.e., name of the university),
  • (b) status (e.g., MASc student, PhD student, postdoctoral fellow),
  • (c) the title of the applicant’s accepted paper,
  • (d) whether the paper is accepted in the main conference or as a workshop paper,
  • (e) whether the applicant is the first author and presenter, and
  • (f) explain the reasons for requesting the fund.
  • (g) Female or under-represented applicant, if applicable.
An applicant should also attach the CV in the email.

Furthermore, an applicant should notify his/her supervisor. The supervisor is required to submit a reference letter via email to with subject “e-Energy 2019 Travel Grant Ref Letter - [Name of applicant]”. The supervisor’s letter should include the following paragraphs:

  • explain how the applicant can benefit from attending e-Energy as well as how the applicant could contribute to the conference; and
  • explain the current funding status and why the applicant is in need of the travel grant.

The email from the applicant and supervisor should be received by May 5, 2019.


Association for Computing Machinery ACM EIG Energy



Student Travel Grant Support

National Science Foundation ACM SIGCOMM

ACM e-Energy owes its success, in great part, to the generous backing of our academic and corporate partners. If you are interested in sponsoring ACM e-Energy 2019, please contact the General co-Chairs: Xiaojun Lin and Steven Low.

The ACM e-Energy 2019 Website by ACM SIGCOMM 2012 is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. Source code is available at