The ACM Special Interest Group on Energy Systems and Informatics (SIGEnergy) is a professional forum for scientists, engineers, educators, and professionals for discussing energy systems and energy informatics. It brings together an inter-disciplinary group of computer scientists with diverse backgrounds in sensing, modelling, optimization, control, network and systems design, and experimentation to discuss and address key challenges in future energy systems, and their impact on society.

SIGEnergy covers a broad range of topics in energy informatics, energy system design, analysis, and operation ranging from building energy management, renewable energy modelling and integration, energy storage system analysis, electric vehicle modelling and optimal operation, data-centre energy management, and energy impact on climate and society.

In November 2020, ACM approved the conversion of the Emerging Interest Group on Energy Systems and Informatics (EIGEnergy) to a full-fledged Special Interest Group. EIGEnergy was approved by ACM in February 2018.  The original proposal to ACM proposing the creation of the EIG is here.

Bylaws of ACM SIGEnergy can be found here.

Current Leadership of SIGEnergy

Prashant Shenoy (Chair), University of Massachusetts Amherst
S. Keshav (Vice Chair), University of Cambridge 
Fred Jiang (Treasurer), Columbia University
Omid Ardakanian (Information Services Director), University of Alberta
Primary responsibility: managing mailing lists and the SIGEnergy website
Minghua Chen (Executive Committee Member & Awards Chair), The City University of Hong Kong
Yashar Ghiassi-Farrokhfal (Communications Director), Erasmus University
Primary responsibility: overseeing the design and distribution of email newsletters
Tian Guo (Social Media Director), Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Primary responsibility: managing SIGEnergy’s social media accounts
Sebastian Lehnhoff (ACM e-Energy Steering Committee Chair), University of Oldenburg
Primary responsibility: ACM e-Energy Conference Liaison
Zoltan Nagy (Education Director), University of Texas at Austin
Astrid Niesse (Diversity and Inclusion Director), University of Oldenburg
Pei Zhang (ACM BuildSys Steering Committee Chair), University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Primary responsibility: ACM BuildSys Conference Liaison

Please contact us if you are interested in joining the Executive Committee.